看守器具

看守器具
Leong Keng Hong 醫生
MSI新加坡分區

有個故事描述一位古代的國王,他的領土遭到襲擊,敵人洗劫這個地方並擄走了所有的婦女和兒童,因此國王帶領600名戰士一起去營救人民。在路途中有200名已筋疲力盡,所以他們留在後方,其餘的人則繼續前行。後來這些戰士們打敗了敵人,並帶著許多財物回來。有些戰士不想和那些留下來的人分享戰利品,但是這位明智的國王不同意,他說:“上陣的得多少,看守器具的也得多少,應當大家平分。”(撒母耳記上30:24)

自從1994年加入MSI以來,這就是我的經歷。雖然這些年來我定期參加短期服務隊,但我主要的職責是“看守器具”;這包括動員、同工關懷、財務和制定政策等差派地的角色。

我認同MSI是因其事工的全面性。神給予我們每個人很好的恩賜,是要我們以此去祝福別人,這些恩賜包括我們的專業經驗和知識。 MSI讓我們有獨特的機會去使用自己的專業,將生命的意義和目的帶入所接觸的人群中。

在過去這些年當中,我多次跟隨短期隊前往昭覺縣參與義診服務;在西昌市第二人民醫院進行風濕免疫病理講座,並且參與病房巡查;我和妻子共同參與了昆明市自閉症項目初期階段的工作。其他的行程包括探訪同工,以及參訪機構其他的項目,例如水利項目、陽光農場和畜牧項目。事實上,我們從這些參訪中學到的東西比我們貢獻的更多。

總的來說,在過去的27年中,作為MSI的一員是一種喜悅和榮幸。這項事工需要很多人投入才能帶來好的結果,感謝多年來所有參與的同工們,願這項意義深遠的事工繼續為許多人帶來祝福。

STAYING BY THE BAGGAGE

STAYING BY THE BAGGAGE
Dr Leong Keng Hong
MSI- SG Regional Centre

A story is told of an ancient king whose territory was raided and his enemies captured all the women and children and looted the place. He, together with 600 men went to rescue them. Along the way, 200 of the men were exhausted and so they stayed behind while the rest went to rescue their families. They had victory over their enemies and came back with much spoils of war. Some of the men did not want to share these fruits of success with those who stayed behind. The wise king did not agree and said: “As his share is who goes down into the battle, so shall his share be who stays by the baggage. They shall share alike.” (1 Samuel 30:24)

This has been my experience with MSI since joining the work in 1994. Although I have made short-term trips regularly over the years, my main role is to “Stay by the baggage”. This involves homeside roles of mobilisation, member care, finance and policy setting.

The work of MSI appeals to me because of the holistic nature of its work. We are all given good gifts to be used to bless others. These gifts include our professional experience and expertise. MSI gives us the unique experience of using our professional training to bring meaning and purpose into the lives of people we encounter.

Over the years, I have gone on trips to be part of the health fair in Zhaojue, I joined in ward rounds and gave lectures on Rheumatology to the 2nd Hospital in Xichang. My wife and I were involved in the initial stages of the autism work in Kunming. We have made other trips for member care and to visit other aspects of our work, such as the water projects, Sunshine farm and animal husbandry projects. The truth is that we learnt more than we contributed from all these trips.

Nonetheless, it has been a joy and an honour to be part of the work of MSI in the last 27 years. It is a work that needs many hands to bring about good outcomes. I am grateful for all the colleagues over the years who have been a part of this meaningful venture and long may the work continue to be a blessing to many.